Skip to content

Wild About Pheebs!

June 20, 2011

There’s just one girl for me in this world
Pheebs is her name, that’s what I claim
Why for every girl there must be a guy
I’ve found my mate, by kindness of fate

I’m just wild about Pheebs,
And Pheebs is wild about me!
The heavenly blisses of her kisses
Fill me with ecstasy
She’s sweet like chocolate candy
And just like honey from the bee
Oh I’m just wild about Pheebs
And she’s just wild about, cannot do without
She’s just wild about me!

-Adapted from “Wild about Harry”, Eubie Blake/Noble Sissle, 1926

We’ve been together over half of our lives – the Pheebs and I.

It was crazy.   She handed me her phone number a million years ago – I had no idea why.  One night I was bored and gave her a call.

In the beginning – we just hung out together.  That lasted a while – but not too long.  She seemed to like me – I was absolutely enthralled a girl as beautiful as she had any interest in me at all.

Our offspring may think I’m a cool guy – but I know better.

You see – I’m actually a bit of a bubble-brain.

It took a while – but I think she figured it out.

Meanwhile, the Pheebs can put on a $9 dress and look like a million dollars.

See what I mean?

So – imagine my surprise over a quarter century ago when she calls me, makes small talk for a little while, and then asks me to marry her.

Yeah.  She proposed TO ME over the phone. My reaction?I flipped.

So – we did the usual thing, got married, had a couple of kids (named one of them after a comic book character – after seeing the bubble head pic, this should make sense) and had a life that couldn’t be beat.  I made a few bucks, sent the kids away to college and bought this amazing woman a house in Key West.

Which she promptly abandoned to follow me halfway around the world.  If I didn’t know any better, I’d say she’s a little bit crazy, too.

That’s not true – she’s kind, gentle, caring loving – you name it, she’s got it covered.  The house is neat as a pin – and the food’s not bad either!

25 years later – she still looks every bit as good as she did the day we were married.

Me?  Not so much.

Eastern European genes are great for storage of fat – but not much else, IMHO.

It sounds like a trite saying – but after 25 years, I’m more in love with her than the day I married her.  Wild about her, as a matter of fact, as I’m the luckiest guy I know.

Wonder what she’s plotting for the next 25…

Only time will tell.

To the love of my life…Happy 25th Anniversary!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 7:04 am

    Chuck–
    I, too, married WAY out of my league.
    I am thankful every day for it.
    Happy Anniversary to you two!

    Greg P. In WV, who is now back home from his SC vacation…

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      June 23, 2011 7:21 am

      thanks!

      I was wondering where you went…Trust the vacation was worth it!

      • June 25, 2011 9:44 am

        Yes, vacation worth it. Our family has two places in North Myrtle Beach, and we take the young one there to celebrate her birthday (6) every year.

      • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
        June 25, 2011 4:13 pm

        It’s good to take young ‘uns to the same place every time.

  2. June 29, 2011 9:48 pm

    Guess what – your kids still think your a pretty cool guy and who doesn’t love the Pheebs!

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      June 29, 2011 11:34 pm

      Thanks. my kids are kinda cool, too. I think I’ll keep ’em.

Leave a Reply

