Skip to content

Da BEACH revisited – or – Chuck is REALLY dumb.

July 17, 2011

We enjoyed ourselves so much at Da BEACH the other day (see earlier post), we decided to go back and camp out for an afternoon.

The decision?  A good one! This is a cool place to hang out!

We plunked down onto one of the lounge thingies in the foreground with full intentions of remaining there most of the day.

Now – for background information…

Typhoon Ma-On is in the neighborhood.  While medium-sized as typhoons go, this is a Cat 3 hurricane equivalent on the other side of the world.  Ma-On packs winds which can be felt from 150 miles out…

Which may be seen in the palms, above, along with big surf.

We ordered up a tasty lunch of Chamorro barbecue and copped some rays while sippin’ a Corona.

I tried to capture the fury of the surf, but my cheap-ass decision made two year ago was busy biting me in the ass.

Little tiny lens + no zoom = crappy distance shot.

After my second Corona, it occurred to me…Hey! the water’s pretty shallow all the way to the breakers…I can wade out there and get kick-ass shots!

The Pheebs thought me quite the dumbass.

I did it anyway.  The first hundred yards was fine.  There was a little surf pumping action – but nothing out of the ordinary.

This just wasn’t close enough – I really need to get up there and ‘capture’ the moment.

After another 50 yards or so, I was calf-deep in water and close enough to transmit a feel for the fury:

Yeah!  That’s more like it!

Waves are far from uniform – they come in sets.  I’d managed to get out on the reef during a lull, and the next set was building…

See that foam in the foreground?  It represents a change in sea level.  In a matter of seconds, calf-deep water became chest-deep.

I was getting hammered by hydraulic freight trains atop a jagged coral reef.  Just standing was an effort, but:

BAM!  Got the shot!  Translucent transient jewelry courtesy of Ma-On!

Retreat!

Made it back – safe and sound.  Next time I’m using a camera with a zoom.

The Pheebs was right.  I’m a dumbass.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Clay permalink
    July 17, 2011 1:58 am

    Next time stay in the lounge type thingee apparatus for safety!

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      July 17, 2011 3:06 am

      Clay!

      Great advice, but considering all the dumb stuff I’ve done to date – there’s gonna be a time I get of that lounge thingie to do something stupid once again. If there’s any consolation – it’s that these sort of events are more widely spaced in my old age.

  2. July 17, 2011 5:42 am

    I love it.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      July 17, 2011 5:59 am

      Thanks!

      Darwin has yet to catch up with me – thankfully.

  3. Grandma permalink
    July 17, 2011 4:24 pm

    Ya did dumb things when you were seven and looks like you didn’t learn yet….

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      July 17, 2011 4:31 pm

      seven…eight…nine…ten…

      At least I don’t do them as often these days.

  4. Len Bloom permalink
    July 18, 2011 5:45 pm

    Dumb it may have been but the result was awesome! Thanks for being dumb and bringing us these shots.

    By the way, do you get a lime with your Corona at Da’ BEACH?

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      July 18, 2011 5:48 pm

      Len – Thanks!

      As for the lime – no. CJ, our waitress gave me a quizzical look when I refused the lemon. Seems just about everyone on Guam thinks Corona should be served up with lemon. Next time we go there – I’m bringing my own just to freak her out.

Leave a Reply

