Skip to content

The Last Walk – Part 1

August 2, 2011

This past weekend was our last together on Guam for some time, the Pheebs and I.

We decided to make the best of it by doing the thing we like best – hang out on the beach at Tumon Bay.

It’s a bittersweet thing – her leaving, that is.  She needs to get back to the mainland to tend to our youngest daughter who is having surgery later this month. Meanwhile – the Pheebs needs surgery of her own.  I’ve made a commitment, though, which means I have to remain behind for the next three months to see work to its logical conclusion.

I’m happy she gets to return to the place she loves more than anything – Key West.  At the same time, this will be the longest period we’ve been apart in 25 years.  I have no choice – I must get over it and on with the task at hand.

So – we walk whilst documenting the sights and sounds of the south half of the Bay.

The owner of several Tumon Bay properties (read big honking hotels) have the nicest homes on the beach – at the nicest part of the beach.

Multimillion dollar properties with keypad automated entry and the most vicious guard dogs on the island, in my opinion.  It’s a scene more Miami than Guam.

We’ve not been to the beachfront cabana at the Mariott, perhaps because there are better hotels on-island.  Seeing it on this last weekend is a reminder there’s many things we didn’t get to.

I guess life is like that.  Loose ends.

One of the most visible reminders of Guam’s checkered past is here on Tumon bay – a machine gun nest disguised as a coral outcrop.  We passed by at low tide; the structure floods at high.  Imagine sitting in water, waiting for the enemy.

Okay – enough of that.

Guam gets an amazing 8 feet of rain per year – yes, eight feet.  The land between the North Side and the South Side is a limestone plateau – very porous.  After a heavy rain, the freshwater lens (which sustains modern life on Guam) leaks into the ocean at a prodigious rate.

Water leaks from the limestone to the ocean, making Tumon Bay slightly less saline than water outside the reef.  Not only do small streams appear from nowhere, water literally percolates up through the beach.

Low tide exposes coral formations and tidal pools – this area of the Bay is the best for snorkeling.

Critters are sometimes left high and dry.

Sorry if the post is a little melancholy – it’s not easy leaving the love of one’s life for an extended period.

Kind and caring – returning the starfish to its home.

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

– “Leaving on a Jet Plane”, John Denver.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 2:38 pm

    A dog that isn’t vicious is a great thing.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 2, 2011 4:05 pm

      My favorite kind. Vicious dogs imply maladjusted owners.

Leave a Reply

