Skip to content

The Last Walk – Part 2

August 3, 2011
Tonight I'll sing my song again

I'll play the game and pretend hm ...
But all my words come back to me
in shades of mediocrity
like emptiness in harmony
I need someone to comfort me.

Homeward bound
I wish I was
homeward bound

home
where my thought's escaping

home
where my music's playing

home
where my love lies waiting silently for me.
-"Homeward Bound", Paul Simon/Art Garfunkel

We thought about different things we could do on a Sunday – but went back to the old standby – walking the beach.  It’s funny – if you were to ask me a quarter century ago if id be content walking the shore of a Pacific island doing absolutely nothing other than being with my wife – I’d have thought you were crazy.

But yet – here we are, and I wanted nothing else.

Western weddings have become common with the Japanese – and Guam is one of their favourite destinations.  I’ve been given a homework assignment – that is to chronicle the plethora of weddings and wedding chapels in the Pheebs’ absence – which will be faithfully completed in another post.  In the meantime, here’s a happy couple and their wedding ‘coach’ taking the obligatory Pacific Island beach shot for their children and grandchildren to fawn over for decades to come.

The water tranquil and serene  on this last day of walkies.

The reef kept super typhoon Muifa’s fury at bay.

Enough so to attract throngs of tourists out for an afternoon of frolicking.

I guess one cannot have too many floaters.

A sand monument reminded me of a childhood toy – Silly Sand. we’d make sculptures on the kitchen table with colored sand a thousand miles from the ocean’s shore.

Any resemblance to naughty bits is purely coincidental, I’m sure.

We kept walking.  We passed all the big hotels, stopping where the bay’s sweep current deposits the finest of sand adjacent coral outcrops.

The Pheebs is fond of her posed shots.

Me?  not so much.

I think of the dead relatives staring stiffly at me from a century gone by – and keep walking.  I can hear my successors now…

“Yep!  That’s Great-Grandpa Sherman’s butt!  I’ve seen it in dozens of photos!”

It’s a pretty area, this secluded section of Tumon Bay.

and it’s made all the prettier by sharing with the Pheebs.

I know there’s supposed to be a point where women should avoid wearing a bikini, but I thank my lucky stars that at age 45, she’s got a ways to go before that happens.  It may just be my bias showing – but I think she wears the mantle of age far better than I.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

