Skip to content

Changing Perspective

August 5, 2011

The Pheebs, generous person she is, left me her camera with a simple admonition – “Use it”.

After being all mopey and stuff for the past three days, it was time to go out and make good on her demand – but how?  Hmmm….

Instead of sweeping vistas, how about some tight shots?

Yeah.  I think I can do this, and figure out camera settings in the process.

No – I’m not a photographer, and if there’s any credit due for these pix, it’s courtesy of the Olympus Corporation.

Okay – one vista:

At low tide, this section of Tumon Bay provides a natural patio shade up to the late afternoon hours.  It’s as relaxing a place to be as can be found anywhere on island.

This little guy reminded me of my front porch – hope ours are doing well.

Near the far northern end of Tumon Bay is a vacant resort.  It is curious, as it appears to have been shut down on a moment’s notice – and hasn’t been open in the three years I’ve been coming to Guam.

Ragged umbrellas flap in the breeze whilst traveler palms take over.  It’s peaceful – yet eerie.

The only guest I could scare up was the uninvited kind:

He was a pretty good sized crab – maybe 5″ – 6″ long, meandering along the sidewalk as if to be a tourist.

Speaking of tourists, the guests at the Nikko display a rather curious behaviour…

Liberal use of life preservers in less than three feet of water.  Get in trouble on the open ocean?  Stand up, dammit!

No – this ain’t the mainland.

It’s de islan’.

One more floral shot:

I think I might be getting the hang of this infernal gadget after all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 9:31 am

    I like all the pictures!! I think your getting the hang of it. I hope my yellow hibiscus is alive and thriving too. I would be sad if I had to start over with new plants….but such is nature often fragile at times. I suspect they are okay if we have had rain. We’ll see … Hopefully soon. Emily’s neighbors have been taking turns looking after the one plant I left her two years ago. She abandoned it on her patio. She said it once only had three leaves left….now with their care it is three feet tall and flowering. Perhaps her getting to know her neighbors flowered too as a result. I think so.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 5, 2011 3:29 pm

      Pheebs!

      For some silly reason, I pulled a muscle climbing an embankment near Nikko to get those shots. I saw the flowers and thought, ‘The Pheebs would stop to photograph them…so I did!

      miss you like crazy.

  2. Len Bloom permalink
    August 5, 2011 2:47 pm

    It looks like you have it down very nicely.

    Hope you are not too distraught about Pheebs absence. It will be over before you know it.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 5, 2011 3:30 pm

      Len –

      Thanks for the kudos, and while I miss her like crazy, we’ve been apart B4 on a number of occasions. This one’s just a little longer than average.

Leave a Reply

