Skip to content

Hong Kong Flower Market

August 10, 2011

One of the peculiarities of Asian culture (as mentioned before on G&B) is the shophouse – a small business on the first floor with living quarters above.  Not only are shophouses rampant, they do something rather odd to our western sensibilities – shops with similar products tend to clump together – a street of camera shops, for example.

In checking out the maps of Hong Kong, we spotted one area dedicated to flowers….Mong Kok Flower Market.

The Pheebs loves her flowers, so off we went.

The market, several blocks long, held dozens of shops all of 15′ wide offering all manner of flora.

Shops were a riot of colours.

The Pheebs was in flower heaven.

Me? I know what my wife likes – and this is it.  They don’t hold much interest, which is how I ended up waay ahead of the Pheebs.

I see the flower market more uniformly.
I really like the idea of the shophouse, as it melds vocation/avocation/residence/entrepreneurship/free enterprise in a compact, sustainable package.  This is as far from the Floral/Garden section of Wal-mart as one may get.

Infinitely better, in my opinion.

Very pretty, also.

Just don’t ask me to identify anything.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 7:37 am

    Oooooo……Ahhhhhhhh:) so pretty. My pictures turned out nice. Pheebs

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 10, 2011 7:42 am

      if you photographed the underside of a toilet bowl – I’d find it attractive, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

