Skip to content

Liquid Sky

August 12, 2011

Craziest damned thing happened to me today.

I went back in time.

No – I’m not kidding.

It was a clear August day here on Tumon Bay – so clear it merited hanging out on da beach to document was certainly to be a sublime sunset.

I warmed up the Pheebs’ camera on an Australian pine tree.  Note how blue the sky is – it’s NEVER this blue in August on Guam.

I wandered down the beach a bit; the canoe clubs were out in force.  Counted a dozen staging for the evening – never before have that many been out on a night – ever.

It was weird – I could walk amongst them, and they wouldn’t notice.

I took photos of the rigging – noticing how even with the advent of modern materials, these were still ancient craft.

You’d have thought that with carbon fiber and titanium, we’d have figured out a way to improve on securing an outrigger to a canoe, yes?

I turned – and spied a shrine to those who had passed on.

I turned back, and…

I stood agape on a white talcum beach, filled with laughing brown gods and goddesses, intent on racing the other for the right to prepare the evening meal.

I remained mesmerized by what transpired before me.  Yes – I was aware of the sublime nature of the event, and managed to pull the camera to my eye  on occasion to record this for posterity.

Canoes of ironwood, filled with brown muscles, white teeth flashing, back bent on preserving honor and glory.

They swarmed the lagoon as if to be 1o armed locusts – smooth oiled organic machines capable of traversing open ocean on force of will alone.

Backs bent against a salty sea – working as one to traverse space and time.

“Hey!  Chuck!”

A friend calls out from ocean’s edge.

“Huh?”  I shake my head and rub my eyes.

“Man! You had a crazy look in your eyes, buddy!  it was like you weren’t here!  You okay?”  My friend was concerned.

“Yeah. ”

I wasn’t about to tell him I was as good as a guy could be who had just went back  400 years.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 1:01 am

    Lucky this was the 21st centuiry otherwise you’d have been dinner.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 12, 2011 4:40 am

      Los Ladrones would have taken a shine to my camera; that’s about it. You have to travel to Vanuatu or Papua New Guinea to participate in the entree – and supposedly, cannibalism is still practiced.

      My gut (pun intended) sez that as resources become scarce, such practices will be on the rise. This I know from history – some people in St. Petersburg were well-fed during the siege – and the remainder of the population repulsed at their pinkness.

  2. August 12, 2011 5:47 am

    I love them all, but this was a good one.
    Doug, Key West

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 12, 2011 7:01 am

      As I was writing it – I thought you’d like it!

      Thanks!

  3. August 12, 2011 7:49 am

    Your getting good at this camera thing. Awesome canoe pictures. Wish I could have shared the moment with you. Love, Pheebs

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 12, 2011 5:17 pm

      I missed having you by my side.

Leave a Reply

