Skip to content

A Three Hour Tour

August 21, 2011

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale, 
A tale of a fateful trip 
That started from this tropic port 
Aboard this tiny scoot. 

The bike was a mighty chinese brand, 
The rider brave and sure. 
He set forth that day 
For a three hour tour, a three hour tour. 

(Sung to the tune of “Gilligan’s Island)

Well…it was closer to four, including lunch.

Much time was spent modifying the little sucker to handle the south side mountains.  True to form, about the only pieces of the drivetrain not modified were the crank and crankcase.  I’d made the decision to go forth today and explore – but before I left, I made one more modification.

Scooters are belt driven, and I’m 95% certain that at 220 lbs, I weigh more than the average Chinese scooter pilot.  This is very hard on the belt drive, so I wanted to get a little more air into the clutch – and did so with a set of vent holes in the clutch cover.  These are eyeballed were done with a hand drill in the kitchen, and turned out quite well, methinks.

Anyway – off to the adventure.

I’d planned to be out a while, so I packed for the trip – multiple water bottles, SPF 50 sunscreen, tools and yes – a cell phone, although there’s no service on the southside to the best of my knowledge.  First step was to test the drive by getting as high as I could as quickly as possible.

The little scoot managed the trip to Leo Palace with aplomb, putting up the 1000+ feet of elevation change at 30 MPH.  I’d left the city and the tourist areas far behind.

I never tire of photographing giant bamboo – this stuff was a good 40′ tall and the culms (stems) were 4″ in diameter.

This is a very Catholic island, so much so that people place shrines in their front yards.

There was a chicken guarding the Immaculate Mary, but it ran away when I stopped.

Guam chickens are far more skittish than Key West chickens, to be sure.

I found the ability to stop on a whim to photograph something to be an absolute pleasure.

There is a huge problem with littering on this island – has something to do with people thinking they’re too good to be wandering around picking up trash – or simply dealing with their own.  As I finished taking this shot, I looked down at my feet and noticed a used tampon.  Who pulls over to the side of the road to discharge a tampon, anyway?

These are things missed whilst motoring about in cages.

No set itinerary – just me and a scoot wandering about the southern mountains of Guam.

The interior was absolutely spectacular – and virtually vacant, save for:

A NASA tracking station.  The Jersey Barriers are there to prevent terrorists from storming the station.  Seems to me that it’d be pretty easy to just drive around them on the grass, but what do I know?  Note the electronic entry post rotted away and laying aside the road – they’ve gone to a less sophisticated method of keeping the place secure – a padlock.

Ever insubordinate, I took a photo of the surveillance system.  There’s a troglodyte somewhere in DC checking to see what mischief I’m up to as you read this, no doubt.

This abandoned section of roadway deep within the center of the island was visually spectacular with bougainvillea and plam trees lining its sides.

It was like riding some of the old logging trails we did as kids; brought a smile thinking of it.

Every curve brought a breathtaking vista, like this one high above the village of Merizo.

I was glad for ventilating the drive case on the scoot, as there’s a spot on the southside where one makes a 1000 foot elevation change in less than a mile.  The little bugger made it, but chugged down to 20 MPH in the process.  I’ve heard stock small displacement scoots do it at 10 MPH, so I’ve managed to double the power output – not too bad!

I gave it a rest at the top of the pass and was able to snap off another sublime vista.

Made it back to civilization; stopped for a late lunch/early dinner at the Sunset Grill –  a place covered in an earlier post.

Traveled 78 miles in a little over 4 hours, including lunch.  Burned through less than a gallon of gas, but more importantly, I had a GREAT time doing it!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 1:12 am

    I think a Suzuki or Hinda 250 would be exactly right for this island. it looks much m ore interesting than Highway One.
    red plonk in november please.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 21, 2011 1:52 am

      Actually, a Yamaha TW 200 with its fat tires front and rear is the hot ticket. I didn’t want to surrender my FL driver’s license and go thru the hassle of getting a new one, so I went with a moped albeit highly modified.

      As for the plonk – Tempranillo or Malbec?

  2. Grandma permalink
    August 21, 2011 8:38 am

    Hope you had a helmet on.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 21, 2011 2:59 pm

      I had a very sturdy hat.

  3. August 21, 2011 9:28 am

    What helmet? We are pushing it with the very heavy, space consuming EpiPen. So were you on the scoot I road? Is it to powerful for a 103 lb pixie since the modifications? Love the bamboo photo. Ironically a lot of the plants in Guam are grown on people’s property here in Sarasota, especially the horse and livestock ranches. It must be the availability of land and TONS of rain.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 21, 2011 3:00 pm

      Same scooter.

      It’s vary tractable – but there’s more to follow next post.

  4. Len Bloom permalink
    August 21, 2011 3:04 pm

    Bravo!

    The three (or four) hour tour was complete success as far as I can tell. Hope the rest of your adventures are equally as nice and hazard free.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      August 21, 2011 4:36 pm

      Yesterday was interesting albeit not completely hazard-free. You’ll see when WordPress auto-posts it around midnight Central time. Old guys should not fall off their rides – even at slow speeds, as one is sore the next day. No worries – minimal damage to both the organic and mechanical componentry involved.

Leave a Reply

