Skip to content

Guam’s Beach Bar.

September 10, 2011

I’m alone here on the island.

It kind of sucks, actually.  I’d much prefer to spend time in a dumpster with the Pheebs than be away from her for an extended period.

But – we pays our money and makes our choice.  In our case, long term health care for our family of four with pre-existing conditions would cost $11,200 a month. Yes, you read that right.  Eleven thousand two hundred dollars every thirty days.  Anyone who thinks we have a functional health care system in the United States needs to turn off the idiot propaganda box, leave the country for a week and see how a decent system operates.   Everything I have is paid for, I have money in the bank, but I’m forced to work for a big corporation so that my wife and daughter may have access to healthcare which still costs us over a thousand dollars a month for copays, tests and procedures.

This isn’t the American dream.  It’s indentured servitude, courtesy of corporations who benefit from such things.

To take my mind off separation and such mundane issues, I head out to the Beach Bar a couple of times a week.

It’s a nice place, the Beach Bar. I’ve gotten to know a few people here, and occasionally I run into people I know.  Experiences as this take the edge off of being apart.

Turns out they have a frozen drink setup and get their mixes from Fat Tuesdays.  While I’ve never had a frozen drink from FT’s on Duval near Caroline, having one here makes me feel a bit closer to home, at least.

The manager, John Paul Ford, is working hard to keep this an upscale place for people to come and relax.  I like that.  He’s readying the new menu, and it looks to be on par with some of the better restaurants in Key West.  I can’t wait.

It’s quite relaxing being here.  It’s the “ahh”… at the end of the day.   It helps to be recognized, as opposed to being a distinct minority thousands of miles from home.

The views in every direction are pretty astounding, including the parking lot on the evenings when the sky is clear.

It really is paradise; the finest beachfront establishment I’ve ever been to – and that’s saying quite a bit.

I just wish I could share it with the Pheebs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2011 7:30 am

    Pooting…..

    I buy a new pet carrier to travel back in but would be hard pressed to find someone to take me as carry-on traveling to Guam.

    Pheebs

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      September 10, 2011 8:09 pm

      I’ve two teams leaving for Guam this weekend…

Leave a Reply

