Skip to content

Shining Happy Women

September 22, 2011

It’s been said before – when the women in your life are happy – you’re happy.

With minimal interest in touring Barcelona (which eventually changed), it was possible to focus on my family’s reaction to the place.

It was fun working with Emily.

We took a stupid number of pictures of ourselves – taking pictures of ourselves.  The ones with Emily turned out far better – trust me, it wasn’t the photographer’s skill.

Emily took somewhere on the order of 1000 photos.  Many of which I thought to be totally whacked-out framings of objects until I saw the finished product.

I have Barcelona to thank for getting over an irrational fear of taking a bad shot.  With a digital camera, one may shoot until the battery dies – then pick the shots worth saving whilst sipping a drink at an alfresco cafe.

Emily was very insubordinate; while touring the Picasso exhibit (no photography allowed), she did whip out her camera for a few architectural shots.  I scolded her – I have no idea where she gets that from.

Here’s my shot of the same banned courtyard, by the way.

I wasn’t supposed to take this Carnvial mask shop shot, either.  I blame my parents for not raising me right.

The Pheebs had her own little Pheebish sun balcony overlooking the anicent Roman Road into Barcelona.  Sun powered creature that she is – this made her very happy.

She seemed to enjoy herself wherever we went; it was only until we got home she confessed she was in a lot of heart pain, sneaking nitro tablets to keep up.

Meanwhile, Emily kept a-clickin’.

Well – most of the time, at least.

I guess what made Barcelona special is we went there with no expectations – good or bad.  It allowed us to see the city on its own terms.

That, and we discovered a secret weapon in the fight for Shining Happy Women:

Happy Pills.  I’d open one of these stores in Key West tomorrow – if I can only get the company to return my inquiries.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 7:49 am

    Happy Pills….jelly beans, gummy bears, gumballs, lemon drops….all the best sugar buzzing happy stuff a kid could want. How can you not be happy on a sugar buzz:)

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      September 23, 2011 4:10 pm

      It’s the crash that’s an issue.

Leave a Reply

