Skip to content

Long Distance Pheebishness – or – Thank You, Steve Jobs

October 8, 2011

When I was a kid, I was an avid watcher of sci-fi.  Every movie, every TV show featured 2-way face to face communications.

Fast foward 40 years.  The Pheebs and I are separated by a continent, an ocean and 14 time zones – yet widespread application of this technology has afforded us a level of connection relegated to fantasy when Star Trek originally aired.

I remember talking to relatives in California from Michigan in the early 60’s; the phone line was so scratchy as to be indistinct.  That one was able to recognize the voice on the other end of the line was a miracle in and of itself.

Later, I recall the magic of watching the Olympics via live satellite feed.  Scratchy, grainy – and the signal dropped regularly…but yet when it came through, there was Europe in real time.

My grandmother grew up in a world where continents were separated by weeks of ocean travel – a trip few made, and the ones who did considered it a one-way sojourn.

Meanwhile the Pheebs, possessing a tablet of metal and plastic thinner than a National Geographic magazine, is able to share the expericences of a lifetime in real time with her daughters.  Of course, since she loves bathrooms so much she has to share them, too.

The same holds true of the idea of posting travel photos and commentary.

Mouldering in a corner of my parents cellar is a Bausch & Lomb slide projector and about a thousand slides of America’s Desert Southwest, Mexico and a couple of goofy-looking kids growing up.  They’re fun to pull out from time to time – a time capsule, but words and context may soone be lost as the framers of the photographs pass into posterity.

As much as going through the slides is the travelogue equivalent of a root canal – we need to do it again while Mom and Dad’s memories are still sharp, so as to have a record to pass on to our kids.

The blog holds an immediacy for friends and family – you’re able to share the experience in near-real time.   It has been my undiminished joy to share worlds unimagninable to the Pheebs with her – and you.

I’ve avoided posting up the gratuitous cheesy pose shots until now, as it was initially more important to share the places – not the fact we were there.  I’ve been surfing other blogs in m spare time, and I’m surprised how inwardly focused many of them are.  I have a lot of Pheebs being Pheebs photos, though, and in the interest of missing her terribly, I thought it apropos to to a single post to help illustrate why I think she’s the single neatest human on the planet.

Easy on the eyes, too.

It makes me happy to see her happy.  I think this to be an essential component of a long-term relationship; working diligently to create an evironment where the other is happy.

I think I’m holding up my end of the bargain.

Until we’re together again, at least we have the product of Steve Jobs’ insanely great imagination as a vehicle to bridge time and space,

coupled with the wonder of a girl who never completely grew up.

Thank you, Steve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 5:08 am

    OMG…I laughed so hard at 5:55am. The bathroom pictures just crack me up. I hope others see the humor in my need to praise clean shinny marble, beautiful tile, glistening chrome fixtures, and lets not forget outstanding lighting fixtures:)

    Besides who wants to grow up anyway the young at heart have the secret to the “fountain of youth”. Pheebs

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 8, 2011 6:59 am

      you’re a bathroom inspector. That’s Pheebish.

Leave a Reply

