Skip to content

Pacific Islands Club

October 16, 2011

We’ve been coming to Guam for years, and have been here for the past several months (mostly).  In all this time, we’ve not been in the Pacific Islands Club.  The Pacific Islands Club is just down the street from us, past the Marriott.  It has, by far, the largest resort area and frontage on Tumon Bay.

I ‘d made the decision to wander in the other night, figuring if the staff didn’t want me there they’d kick me out.  Micheal Beattie of Key West Diary fame will tell you a camera hung around the neck in a tourist town is a perfect disguise – and he’s right.  I was able to walk about unimpeded by  resort police.

It didn’t take long to be impressed by the resort’s common areas.

They are very open and impressively groomed.  This is a wading pool for toddlers under an immense tree for shade.  Asians don’t like sun on their progeny, so this is a thoughtful gesture.

The resort’s grounds were a study in execution of the perfect Pacific Island Paradise.

Years ago in a former life, I did sound engineering for a local theatre company.  We did 5 major shows a year, two straight shows and three musicals in a 370 seat vaudeville theatre.  One of my favorite productions was “South Pacific”.

The haunting melody of “Bali Hai” painted the South Pacific in my mind’s eye.

The gardeners of the Pacific Islands Club must have raided my brain, for this is what I’d carried in my head.

Ahh.  As if to live well here forevermore.

Sadly, the place got weirder the further I walked.

Large pools and waterparks, yes.

Like all things Asian, everyone moves in a large mass.  It was 6:00, and the dinner bell rang.  Hundreds of people emerged from the hotel, all wearing the same Pacific Islands Club swim trunks, and moved in procession to the dinner buffet and Polynesian show.  I’d not taken a photo of the event, as it disturbed me to see this behavior, like human cattle.

It dawned on me then.

This place is not real – it’s a facsimile, a idealized re-creation of a tropical paradise according to an owner seeking to please Asian tourists.

Even the Koreans had their version of paradise.

Bulgogi by the beach.  This is a table setting from anyrestaurant in Korea.

I hurried to the beach to see who from the Club was admiring the sunset and this is what I encountered once there:

Nary a soul.  1000 Japanese and Koreans holed up in a resort, and not a single one in the moment.

They missed this:

Sunsets appear to be inconsequential to the peoples of the Land of the Rising Sun and Morning Calm.  Their loss is my gain.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 8:04 pm

    People are weird. Or wired. Or both.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 16, 2011 10:53 pm

      Walking the beach this past afternoon, I’d noticed something odd – 2/3rds of the people there had their heads in their smartphone. They weren’t “in the moment” – sad.

      I’d like to get my life in order to the point where I have no need for the infernal gadget – a worthwhile pursuit, methinks. Either that or the response of a curmudgeon.

Leave a Reply

