Skip to content

Walk This Way – Again.

October 18, 2011

With nothing to do and all evening to do it, I grabbed the cheap camera and went for a walk south again.

Remember the guard dogs I played catch with a vew evenings ago?  Well…seems the master didn’t take kindly to the domestication of his vicious trained animals, and upon approching the house, they recognized me – and ran away.  Closer unspection revealed an anti-guard dog fence erected six feet back from the main fence.  Seems the Master has cameras, too.  I shudder to think what was done to the dogs to make them run away so quickly.

I soldiered on, figuring the flat sky was to reveal little in the way of evening color.

A southern vantage point revealed the resort district aglow.

The nearer buildings alight, too.

The beach gets a little crusty down here, something to do with the sweep current entering the Bay at this point, scouring the remants of an ancient coral reef clean.

If you weren’t already aware, I’m not a huge fan of either socks of footwear of any kind.  Even when I lived up on the mainland, I wasn’t much for shoes.  I think I may have worn socks twice this year, and the longest I’ve gone unshod was a full week – and then it was only for an hour to go to a restaurant requiring shoes.  Spent the next week barefoot just to make up for it.  Anyway, I go without so often that I honestly forget sometimes to grab a pair of flip flops before leaving the house.  It was only on Monday I realized I’d gone the weekend sans shoes again.  This coral would be painful to the shoe wearing crowd, after one becomes accustomed to feeling with the soles of one’s feet – this becomes a rather interesting texure to experience.

Made it over the coral, and captured a photo of a hidden bunker on the Hilton property.

Was then able to snap some interesting sunset pictures from an angle heretofore not experienced.

This was cool – but the cheapie camera doesn’t do it justice.

I’m finding the better shots are to the south and east, interesting.

And my favorite shot of the evening, a richly colored cumulus tower, a uniquely tropical cloudform.

After a beer and some curried beef stew as a complimentary appetizer (which was dinner for me), I took the sidewalk home.

Seems a middle-aged guy walking barefoot on Guam is quite a sensation, as several people commented the following day that they’d seen me out that evening.  Asians dont’ wear shoes at homes – but never venture outside without, it seems.

**************

Readership of the blog has declined significantly in the past few weeks.  I don’t know whether to continue posting what must be rather boring stuff, or suspend the blog altogether.  I need to know if the remaining readers want to continue; if not, this week will likely be the last.

Please let me know.

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 4:53 am

    I want you to continue writing. If the theme of this blog has played out then change the direction. Please don’t stop writing though! Pixie aka Pheebs

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 19, 2011 2:15 am

      I won’t stop writing – it was more the question of publishing. It’s one thing to write when one is moved by the spirit; another thing altogether to compose and publish a 500+ word (on average) blog every day.

  2. October 18, 2011 5:52 am

    I read your blog every morning while I wait for Jo to get ready for work. I appreciate you sharing your life with us and would miss the blog if it were gone. You will note that my blog does not have a counter, therefore I have no idea how many people read it. Therefore I just keep blogging.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 19, 2011 2:13 am

      Thanks, Doug!

      I am glad to hear that. You have been very generous in your thanks for the effort which goes into this.

  3. Joseph T permalink
    October 18, 2011 7:42 am

    I’ll echo the same sentiments. Change direction if necessary, but keep writing and photographing. Between you, Conchscooter, and several others, I vicariously live the life of a dream. You may have numerous blog lurkers hiding in the ether, methinks.

    Joseph T

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 19, 2011 2:24 am

      Thanks. It’s so hard to tell what works and what doesn’t.

      We seem to be living in a world of 140 character soundbytes, and when I began to add longer stories with content requiring a modicum of effort and introspection to digest, readership dropped off 75% overnight. that’s a bitter pill to swallow when one puts a lot of themselves into a short story. They don’t write themselves; the event, properly aged, is composed over a period of time before committed to the written word. Even when composing at 85 words per minute, it’s a three hour tour for a 1700 word story, not including two hours of editing. Little or no feedback and a drop in readership? Must be time to quit.

      So – thank you for asking me to kep on keeping on. I’ll see what I can do.

  4. October 19, 2011 1:04 am

    Why on earth would you possibly consider not continuing posting what is one of my top-ten daily reads. So readership is down. So what? If it really bugs you that much do what Doug says and drop the stat counter but by all means keep posting photos and stories from Guam and the rest of your travels. Clicking here is never boring or predicable.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 19, 2011 2:29 am

      Thanks for responding!

      WordPress does not furnish an option for readership; there’s even a real-time bar graph at the upper left of the screen which indicates readership over the past 48 hours. Additonally, WordPress does an assessment of ones top posts. My top posts? Beach bars and shopping. To a guy who is not possessed of material things, the idea a post on the World’s Largest K-Mart is disappointing.

      It’s been really important to hear from people who’ve not been responding regularly. It helps to know the blog is appreciated by a small yet loyal group. Thank you for that.

  5. October 19, 2011 2:34 am

    Some people do what the numbers suggest. if long essays dont work do short. If pictures work do pictures.
    Me? I don’t pay much attention. I do what I feel like and some essays I throw together as filler get the highest repeat readership.
    I think the time of year has an effect as does the day of the week. When people are busy on saturday readership drops. when snow is on the ground up north it increases.
    other than that, do it because it pleases you

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 19, 2011 3:22 am

      Michael –

      The combination of no wife, challenges at work, and reduced readership after posting some stories with considerable effort in them took their toll. Figured a reality check was in order – so, to that end – yes. I’ll keep it up until loathing overtakes the effort.

  6. October 19, 2011 10:55 am

    my vote is for you to keep posting the descriptions, photos and stories. you never know who will read them or see the photos or for that matter when. however, the beautiful images and creative writing will remain and should grow in volume as long as you’re still interested in sharing.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 19, 2011 4:50 pm

      Thanks, Jim!

      I will keep going. In a few weeks however, the blog will reflect a shift to Key West.

  7. Len Bloom permalink
    October 20, 2011 3:23 pm

    I would miss the blog as well. It takes me places that I will probably not see in person and the photos are awesome.

    I guess you and I think alike becuase some of my favorite posts were the short storys that you did and my least favorite involved shopping.

    I hope you keep it up but only if it isn’t a burden.

    If you do stop please accept my thanks for all you were able to share and I hope to see you in Key West some day.

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 20, 2011 4:50 pm

      Len –

      I’m going to keep going, not to worry. Thanks for weighing in.

Leave a Reply

