Skip to content

People on Da Beach

October 25, 2011

Sunday was yet another good photography day – si I took advantage of it by way of a 5 mile walk.

The ‘zoo’ is right next to the apartment.  No one ever attends that I can see.  It has to be a horrid place, for the zoo is all of 50 feet wide and 200 feet long.  I hear a donkey braying at all hours of the morning; he must be a rather disconsolate animal.  I doubt I’ll find out.

I got a kick out of this little guy.

I’m pretty sure if he kept going, he’d end up somewhere in South America.  I’ve not checked the coordinates, but it has to be something like that.

As is true on Sundays – the locals come out en masse for barbecue and Bud Light.

I think it’s a standard issue rite-of-passage thing; turn 18 and you’re issued an awning and a cooler.

Married?  Kids?  well then…the awning and cooler get supersized, resin chairs and tables thrown in for good measure.  100 of your closest friends on any given Sunday, a nonstop feast.

Meanwhile, the wedding planners work their magic.

Pefection in the sand, supposedly.

Ahh – the Asian squat.

I don’t know why it seems so alien to me to crouch like this – but it does.  Seems like a position of submission and vulnerability, perhaps.

I picked up an interesting factoid the other day about beach barbecues:

Islanders have a supersition about being out at dusk.  Seems the spirits come out of the jungle as the sun sets, so the mass of humanity you see here will pack up and go just before sunset.  This explains the lack of locals at beach bars.

Speaking of beach bars:

Here’s the place from a cliffside perch. They had a foam party the other night with 1500 of their closest friends and relatives.  Old guys don’t do foam; I was nowhere to be seen.

My idea of tropical beachside perfection?

A family playing chicken in the shadow of a limestone cliff.  On days as these, Guam can be fairly fabulous.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 12:27 am

    Nice pics:)……so very Guam!

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      October 25, 2011 10:35 pm

      It is Guam at its very best.

Leave a Reply

