Skip to content

Endless Summer.

October 28, 2011

The Pheebs, intolerant of all things cold, and I made a decision in 2007 to pitch it all in search of endless summer.

There are places on this planet which do fulfill the requirement quite nicely – with the exception of Key West, they’re all below 22 degrees of latitude.

Here’s what one gives up:

  • Heating bills
  • Long winter nights
  • Long underwear
  • Anything having to do with snow
  • Socks (an important requirement for yours truly), and;
  • In the case of the Pheebs – pain.
One has to put up with a number of things when one opts for endless summer, however:
  • Really big bugs. Think cockroaches the size of a small cat – you get the idea.
  • Scorpions.  They don’t bother me, but then again, neither to do the cockroaches.
  • Humidity.  If you don’t like feeling sweaty, this ain’t your bag.
  • Sunscreen.  If you’re going outside, you should put it on. Every day.
  • Tropical storms.  Big winds, storm surges.  Not common, but scary when they hit.  Ask the East Coasters.
What do you get in return?
Peacefulness.
The ability to live outside.
The serenity of seaside living.
I had to make a trip to Colorado this past winter; experienced temps below zero in December.  I’d gotten off the plane in flip-flops.  It was a shock.
Do I miss the cold and snow, even though I have to endure blue-sky rain?
Not one iota.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 8:36 am

    Woot:) Your Coconut Palm awaits your return home:) Pheebs

  2. dangerboyandpixie permalink*
    October 30, 2011 12:26 am

    I like my cocnut palm – even though it causes me to void my lower intestines when it drops a 12# nut on the roof of the house. It reminds me I’m a long ways from the mainland – as it should be.

Leave a Reply

