Skip to content

The Pheebs in Barcelona and other Strange People Sightings.

November 2, 2011

It’s been icky gray here again, so here’s a post drawn from a several thousand photo archive.

There were no preconceived notions about Barcelona; it was a place we were to go, as Emily said so.

I simply CANNOT STAND cheesy staged “take my picture!” shots, so I have to get them out of the way – and quickly.

Fortunately, Emily has a sense of humor with regard to such things.  Whomever she decides she’s marrying (that’s how it works with women inheriting the Pheebs gene, BTW – they do the picking; we’re along for the ride) will never lead a dull life, this I promise.

Okay.  that’s out of the way.  For some odd reason, I took more people photos here than on any other trip. I’ve no explanation,

Other than we were constantly surrounded by people.

For a while, I photographed people photographing – just for the heck of it.

I’d discovered the secret to really good photographs in Rome.  I’ll share it with you.  It’s easy:

1) Find the photographer with the biggest lens.

2) Follow them around, and;

3) photograph what they photograph.

Be prepared to make a break for it, though, as it usually ticks of the professionals when they catch you doing it.

After a while, this became boring, so I moved onto street performers.  Unlike our circus at Mallory Square, Barcelona performers tend towards static displays.

From there I moved onto the African illegal touts selling counterfeit purses.  They have their displays rigged in such a fashion one pull of a string turns the whole shebang into a duffel, and they sprint off to a new locale.  They scooted simply beacuse I wanted to photograph them.

I love this lady – the quintessential befuddled English tourist.

It wasn’t until we returned home that the Pheebs confided she had serious heart issues the entire trip; she’d been sneaking nitro pills in an effort to hide this from both Emily and I.  When I looked at the photos later – it was clear.

Thankfully we have the issue sorted out.

People are people wherever one goes, it seems.

I’m certain the passengers on this tour bus found us equally as odd.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 7:35 am

    Man I know I was having angina but seriously my hair was way to long. Glad I became well enough to get a hair cut.

    Pheebs

Leave a Reply

