Skip to content

End to End to End

November 6, 2011

I had nothing to do and all day to do it, so I decided to hike Tumon Bay from end to end.

Passing through the beach gate shortly before 11:00 AM, my first destination was to be the chapel at the southwestern end of the bay.

You can barely make it out in the photo – it’s the tiny building at the end of the point.  Distance?  About two miles, by my reckoning.

45 minutes later, I’d stumped to the foot of the chapel.

My goal was to take some scenic shots off the patio but there was a wedding underway, thwarting my best efforts.

Fortunately, there were great views to be had on the way back.

Try as I might, I’ve not been able to properly capture the brilliance of Tumon Bay when the sun is high in the sky.

Maybe it’s time for a better camera.

We’ve had rain every day for months now, coming up on nine feet of the wet stuff.  Makes everything quite soggy, and hiking overland can be messy.

Hiking sans footwear has its distinct advantages.

This place is a damned wedding factory.  During my hike, I witnessed no less than five weddings.

They are happy occasions, these, virtually guaranteeing return visits with the fruits of the union in tow.

About an hour and a half later, I’d made it past the Nikko and onto Gun Beach.

You can just make out the chapel on the far left.  The tan building in the center of the shot is Guam Memorial Hospital, and the breaker below it is a good 30′ high.  Big surf today.

On the way back, I captured Boy with Pig.

I guess it pays to have a camera handy.

I’d hoped for some good surf shots,

But my favorite shot of the day turned out to be these guys.

Kids playing in a tidal pool.  Nothing to do and all day to do it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 6:30 am

    One of the things I love about getting old is ‘All day and nothing to do’, so like the little boys is the tidal pool, I do what ever I want to do. If you have enough stuff to do ‘Life is good’.

  2. November 6, 2011 8:16 am

    Very Nice Post!

    I like Doug’s view on aging….I have been lucky to have enjoyed a couple of years of “All day and nothing to do” in Key West because of your dedication and love for your family.

    It is now my turn to let you have a chance to decide what you want to do with your days, weeks, & months to come.

    With Love,
    Your
    Pheebs

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      November 6, 2011 2:53 pm

      We will see.

Leave a Reply

