Skip to content

Blue Water

November 11, 2011

“Wow!  It’s kind of shallow here!”

I’d recevied an email yesterday afternoon from Mike asking me if I wanted to go fishing tomorrow morning.  It’s Veteran’s day (Guam is a day early), and my client had a holiday.  I had an unplanned free day, so yes.  We went out.

We left from the Agana boat basin before dawn.  With only two public boat launches on the entire island, earlier is better.  On the way there, I witnessed a spectacular moonset – every bit at pretty as a sunset, albeit surreal.  Unfortunately my equipment was not up to the task of capturing the sublime event and I had a boat to catch.

Today’s trip was different.  Instead of heading south, we were to fish in the lee of the island as the combination of wind and waves were to be pretty choppy as the day wore on.

“So how deep is it?”  I needed to know.

“Well…about 300 feet.”  I guess when you’re used to fishing in 5,000 feet of water, 300 is shallow.

Mike sets every line as if it were to land a 500 lb marlin.  After spending a few days out on the open ocean, it makes sense.

These big Penn reels are tremendous instruments; if ever I were to follow in Hemingway’s footsteps and spend time on the sea, they’d be the first things I’d buy – after a boat, of course.

The weather perfect, vistas magnificent.

Mike took us up into the water north of Guam.  Rota could be seen in the distance – but not in this shot.

This end of the island is the exclusive domain of the US Air Force.  The beaches are truly the finest on the island – perhaps because no one uses them.

The first half of our fishing sojourn was a goose egg.  Nothing – not even a hit.

There’s an ocean current which passes close to the northern tip of Guam which churns up the sea much the same way the Gulf stream does.  There were times we looked at walls of water half again as tall as the boat.  No – no photos, as one needs every extremity to stabilize one’s position.

On the way back, fortune smiled on us.  We were able to land a pair of wahoo and a pair of mahi-mahi.  They’re both great eating fish, and the last mahi was closer to four feet in length than three.

I haven’t been feeling all that well lately, so I asked to call it a day at lunchtime.  Mike complied with some reluctance – I could tell he was going to head back out for more upon dropping me off.

I’m happy, though, as I was able to capture something I wanted to share:

Blue water.  The colors of the photo are not retouched (it has been rotated a bit to compensate for the boat’s tendency to roll), the water is actually this blue – and clear as spring water.  To land a mahi-mahi in this is to fight with a neon blue metallic beast – colors more brilliant than a mainlander could ever imagine.  No – no fish photos.  To photograph a mahi-mahi after its separation from blue water is to attempt to explain Technicolor or Kodachrome armed with a palette of black and white.

I now understand the pull of blue water.  I suspect it will hold sway over me for some time to come.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2011 9:07 pm

    Beautiful BLUE Water!!!! DEEP BLUE for Sure! Only second to Sky Blue Pink in your choice of colors to be in the moment with:)

    Pheebs

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      November 11, 2011 9:25 pm

      I thought of you whilst we were out. The views spectacular, however the chop was quite a bit worse than the time we went off the reef in Key West when Michelle got seasick, and made our adventure in the sailboat seem a picnic. Water over the bow once, and over the stern maybe a half-dozen times. The seas in the last shot were relatively calm at 6-8 feet. Double that, and you have an idea of the chop in the North Channel.

Leave a Reply

