Skip to content

Home.

November 15, 2011
tags: ,

I’d miscalculated the time involved.  After allowing for the +15 hour adjustment, total travel time was 24 hours door-to-door.  Pretty uneventful trip, which is the best kind in my opinion.  The plane arrived an hour early due to 130 MPH tail winds which allowed speeds of 650+ MPH.

I was carted home most graciously by our neighbor Jan (Yaan).  Upone rolling up to the house I was greeted by decorations in my honor:

Seems a good portion of the neighborhood has become accustomed to my presence.

Two banners were needed for all the salutations.

I’m not the kind of guy who “collects” friends.  Something about growing up on a dead-end street, spending summers in the north woods.  I’m not accustomed to these sorts of things.  Having said that, I watched a TED presentation on Living to 100+, and one of the key tenents of productive longevity is a solid social network of 6 or more friends.  According to the presenter, the average number of close friends in the US is down to less than 2; 6 or more are beneficial to one’s mental health.   If this is true, I am on a road to long life.

Thank you all – I really do appreciate it!

I woke up after a few hours of sleep, greeted by Key West sunshine and deep blue sky.

Backyard vegetation a sight for sore eyes.

Guam’s coconut trees were prolific  – yet there’s nothing like having your own.

Dorothy was right – there is no place like home.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 8:52 pm

    Yep….no place like home!

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      November 16, 2011 7:18 pm

      indeed.

  2. November 16, 2011 5:52 pm

    welcome back!

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      November 16, 2011 7:19 pm

      Thanks!

      I’m still adjusting to it – but the number of people who have welcomed me back is very, very, heartening.

      See you soon!

  3. November 17, 2011 12:33 pm

    Chuck-
    Welcome back home. Glad to see your travels were safe.
    P.S.- Tulsa sucked, the weekend after Key West.
    Don’t go there.
    GregP In WV- jonesing for Simonton St. already…

    • dangerboyandpixie permalink*
      November 17, 2011 2:37 pm

      I’ve been to Tulsa many times; it’s okay.

      thank you for your kind words. It is good to be home – now if I can only get back on Key West time. Being wide awake at 3:00 AM is for night owls.

Leave a Reply

